Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

IBanez AEG-10N preamp problem-no schemtic or wireing diagram on support website
Eddie Lemoine
#1 Posted : 4/27/2011 9:47:42 AM

Groups: Member
this guitar has an Ibanez aeq-ss preamp and claimed Fishman under saddle Pick-up. Problem no normal signal out of quarter inch jack. verified cable and amp using a different Ibanez nylon string guitar checked ok. I was an electronic tech prior to becoming an electrical engineer.wiring from pick up unplugged from preamp had continuity-(braided to female end and also (center to other female end- a(2pin) jack.between the 2 wires measured open otherwise not shorted.note-had and tried 3 new 9 volt batteries so not a battery problem. measured B+ w-volt meter at wires where connected to preamp P.C. board (no cable plugged in to guitar)Red to black wire measured -9 V., also black to preamp metal case measured -9 V. red wire ( Battery+) measured 0 volts and 0 ohms to preamp metal case. Both ground and signal wires (2pins of 4pin jack measured good and not shorted. case/condition-2:With guitar to amp 1/4 inch cable plugged in B+ at preamp P.C. board measured +9 VDC which is where it should be. Prior information: sometimes in the past when used and working,would sometimes would make intermittent connection but would clear up after a few re-plugs.It appears but not for certain there may have been a (make before break failure) in the battery disconnect circuitry at the cable plug-in jack on the guitar. note- with this type of design a twisted inner jack barrel, factory defective or marginally weak or too close