Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Help Identifying Ibanez GIO Model
sethier
#1 Posted : 11/11/2016 3:01:28 AM

Groups: Member
Hello everyone,

Just an FYI: I am very very new to playing guitar.
I inherited an Ibanez GIO guitar, and I am unable to locate any model numbers anywhere on it. What I am intimately trying to figure out the exact function of the three knobs and toggle switch. Also, one of the knobs stopped working, so a spec for a replacement would b great. These are things you usually find in an owners manual, so If I at least have the model number, I could do a search for it on Google.
I've posted pictures, please help! Pray

Thanks!
Steph

imagen
Eroot64
#2 Posted : 11/11/2016 5:23:55 AM
Eroot64

Man
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
I'm not sure about the model, but in general the toggle is pick up selection usually front only, back only, both (for three position, 5 position is a variation of the same. Probably the knobs are volume for each pickup and the third is tone(could be bass and treble and one volume, but unlikely) Regarding the bad pot, often this is just a short(happens a lot when the pot turns in its home and breaks a wire or shorts to the shielding. it could also be a bad cap. If it need replacing just bring the pot to the shop and match it up. The main differences are split post or solid post, post length and you will see the rating printed on the pot, they are either 250 or 500 k , probably 500 because of the humbuckers. I'm surprised you can find the numbers they are usually on the back side of the head, they may have been sanded off.
Bill@Ibanez
#3 Posted : 11/11/2016 4:00:58 PM
Bill@Ibanez

Groups: Moderator, Administration
Was thanked: 409 time(s) in 399 post(s)
Unfortunately, the Model numbers are sometimes not on the back of the headstock. To make things more difficult, the serial numbers on some models were stickers that can easily fall off!