Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

J-custom RG8550MZ Vs Prestige RG2770QZA - Is it really worth to pay $1,000 extra for the j-custom?
Piing
#1 Posted : 10/28/2016 7:19:10 AM
Piing

Groups: Member
After having sold my new S5470Q due to problems with the sustain on certain notes,
I have narrowed down the search for a new guitar to the RG8550MZ (J-custom) and the RG2770QZA (prestige).

Aesthetics apart, the specs of both guitars are very similar, except on this details:

Neck:
RG Custom Super Wizard HP w KTS Titanium rods Vs Wizard HP Prestige

Fretboard:
Maple Vs Rosewood

Hardware finish:
Gold Vs Cosmo Black

Price (here in Bangkok)

$2,800 Vs $1,800

The two guitars I’ve been playing for the last 35 years have maple fretboard (American Deluxe Strat) and
rosewood (RG550LTD) and I don’t mind the difference.

I saw no flaws at all at the neck of the S5470Q. Is there room for improvement on the prestige neck?

Regarding the hardware, is the gold finish more susceptible to discoloration and corrosion than the cosmo black?

I cannot play the guitars before I make the decision, so I am wondering what factor (besides the tree of life) can make
the j-custom an instrument worth extra $1.000. Can the playability or the tone be improved with the “j-custom” fretboard treatment,
or with the Hoshino Gakki signature?

And another detail: African Mahogany Vs Mahogany. Are they really using different lumber? Does it make a noticeable difference?

RG8550MZ - Ibanez Site
RG8550MZ

RG2770QZA - Ibanez Site
RG2770QZA
Bill@Ibanez
#2 Posted : 10/31/2016 2:33:43 PM
Bill@Ibanez

Groups: Moderator, Administration
Was thanked: 409 time(s) in 399 post(s)
I think that side by side, both will play very similarly. I don't think the differences will account for too much actual difference in feel or sound.