Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

My 1984 Ibanez DT555 - a 33 Year Mystery:
Von Herndon Guitars
#1 Posted : 7/17/2017 2:11:21 AM
Von Herndon Guitars

Groups: Member
Hello everyone,

I have come here with an interesting question about my Ibanez DT555 that has been a mystery for many, many years. I post this not only because it is interesting, but also in hopes that someone with Ibanez corporate experience may be able to solve the mystery.

I am a 51 year old musician who grew up in a musical family; the son of a back-up vocalist for both Merle Haggard and Buck Owens. One could say that I, quite literally, grew up in a recording studio - both at Buck Owen's Chester Avenue Studio in Bakersfield, California and at my parent's private studio near our home. At the age of 15, I was already a BMI registered recording artist and I was playing on recordings for hire. I was also the guitarist and bassist in my Mom's C&W group - The Wild Rose Band....But Rock and Roll was my first and truest musical love. When I first heard "Mississippi Queen" in 1971, I was hooked by that guitar sound. Next was "Ram Jam," then "Rick Derringer," early Scorpions and AC/DC. In 1975, I asked for a guitar and was given a 1959 Sears Silvertone, which I still have to this day.

The 1980's was a great time for me. I played in a couple of local garage bands and we frequently played at school assemblies. I was into the typical music of the day, graduating from high school near Fresno, California in 1983.