Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Quality of the Super 80 "Flying Finger" pickups?
DugT
#1 Posted : 9/23/2017 6:04:20 PM

Groups: Member
Are the Super 80 "Flying Finger" pickups good or do most people replace them? They sound ok to me but I prefer the tones from my strats single coils. I also like the out of phase tones from combining pickups. My AR720 with the Flying Finger pups sounds relatively sterile vs a kind of acoustic tone from my old strat copy which is a 1992 Peavey Predator. I'm wondering if I would prefer different pickups in my AR720. I love playing the AR720 because of its neck. I am very new to electric guitars, buy the way, but have played acoustics for decades.
hannu
#2 Posted : 9/25/2017 12:37:32 PM

Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 21 post(s)
DugT;521801 wrote:
They sound ok to me but I prefer the tones from my strats single coils.

In that is the case then it is not so much if they are the right or wrong pickups, it is the wrong guitar. The Ibanez Artist guitar is a humbucker guitar, you may get some split coil sounds out of it, but the natural, intended sound of this guitar is humbucker.
If you like a Stratocaster sound, it is best achieved by a Stratocaster/Stratocaster style guitar (single coil pickups, one piece maple neck).
2011 Ibanez AK95 | 2012 Ibanez AR325 | 2013 Ibanez AKJ95
1964 Gibson Super 400 CES
2013 Fender Jazz Bass
Tracy Dae
#3 Posted : 9/25/2017 3:24:13 PM
Tracy Dae

Woman
Was thanked: 108 time(s) in 105 post(s)
I like the Super 80 pickups in my AR620 quite a lot. If you are expecting Stratish type single coil tone humbuckers cannot achieve that. Single coils achieve that.